Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

AZ mount vs EQ mount

I understand that for taking pictures the best to get is an EQ, but I'd rather hold off as long as possible, as I don't really want to spend the amount of money I need to if I can get away with my AZ mount for the time being.

id like to know:

whats the longest exposure time I can from an AZ mount that will be a decent picture.

Is there a certain EQ mount I will need or will the EQ3 be a good choice.

can I add the syncscan and motors to the EQ mount as I'm new to it all and would prefer to still use it.

Any information on the above subjects and other info would be helpful. Thanks

Regards

Chris

with Az mounts there are 2 issues affecting the length of exposure

1) the tracking ability - the are moving in both ALT and AZ to track, an eq mount is moving in RA only, which is easier as long as it's polar aligned. It will depend on what focal length you are using eg. on a typical SLT mount, you might get 1-2 minutes at 85mm or 30-60s at 250mm.

2) field rotation - where the stars rotate around the edge of the frame as the mount it not aligned to the axis of the earth, is not affected by focal length, but is affected by the area of the sky that it's pointing to. There is a map on the net somewhere, but in general; in the east/west/orng the meridian there's less rotation to 60-90s, in the north/south, there's more rotation so 20-30s.

Your choice of EQ mount will depend on the size and weight of what's going on it, whether you are doing visual or astro photography, whether you want goto or not and tracking (in one or two axis) or not.

I already understood the field rotation etc, was hoping that I could take more pictures at a shorter exposure and stack them, or a, I thinking that's abit too easy?

I suppose at a push I could forget the goto etc, I think I'll probably try to get to the shop I use and talk to the people see what they say

thanks for the info

Regards

Chris