Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What's Going On With My Mount?

russellhq

I'm trying to track down what's causing issues with my guiding and I think it might have something to do with my mount.

I've attached 2 SSs from PHDLab for one of my sessions from last night. As you can see there is a pretty regular hiccup in Declination in the first and a different but regular in the second. I'm not sure what's causing this or how to fix it??

post-6495-0-36883400-1359834619_thumb.pn

post-6495-0-99524000-1359834722_thumb.pn

Thanks themos, though I'm pretty sure I never changed the alignment between graphs. What I may have changed is the dec setting in PHD from North (or South) in the first graph to Auto in the second.

I'll tighten up the PA and try again.

Also, looks like others have had similar problems:

http://stargazerslou...uiding +problem

I may need to strip down my mount after reading that :eek:

I'm no expert, but I think I've picked up that when balancing the counterweights, it's beneficial to make the balance slightly shifted so that the mount has to make effort to pull in the direction it's tracking instead of compensating backwards due to slight overbalancing. Might be that's what themos ment by east heavy. But please correct me if I'm wrong :)

OK, so I had some clear skies and had another play with the mount. Here I picked a star near the meridian/equator and with guiding turned off (but recording tuned on), I got the following graph:

post-6495-0-00832800-1360704018_thumb.pn

Now I can clearly see the PE of the mount in RA with guiding turned off. What's confused me is the DEC axis looks good for about 6/7 minutes but then starts to dive :confused:

Never seen the PHDLab software before - will have to try it out as it looks quite smart. Thanks for highlighting it.