NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Focal reducer? need advice for NexImage 5

MarkSix

Hello All.

I need some advice. I a total novice at imaging and got myself a NexImage 5 cam a week ago.

I've been out two nights now despite the temperatures (-19C) and I have been trying and trying but I dont seem to get it to work.

Well the first time two nights ago my laptop shutdown after 20 minutes because of the cold.

So last night I gave it a try again and after setting the Icap softare to 4x4 binning I finally got something on my laptop.

There it was a part of Mare Tranquillitatis. But I would like to see more and have wider view so I was wondering if a focal reducer is what I need?

I have a C9.25 so think I get to much magninfication together with the cam. As I understand the cam is similar to a 5mm eyepiece.

I have been looking at the Celestron f6.3 focal reducer http://www.firstligh...al-reducer.html

Will this one help and is it a good choice?

Thanks

// Jarmo

The Neximage 5 is essentially a webcam? If so you could use the O.63 reducer but Atik used to do a 0.5x reducer that was much cheaper since it was only intended to cover a small chip, not a large on as with the 0.63. Indeed I thought Celestron did a little reducer as well, just for the fast frame cameras. I think I had one years ago.

However, I don't know why you weren't getting anything at native focal length. I'd have thought that should be easy. I'm a deep sky CCD imager with only a little experience of fast frame imaging. I'd suspect that you were struggling with focus or some other issue because the moon is bright enough for very slow F ratios.

Regarding the computer and the Swedish cold, you can buy heated metal panels designed to keep new born puppies warm and these panels don't mind getting damp - for obvious reasons!!

Olly

Jarmo,