Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice on aligning a Celestron star pointer finderscope

Hello, this is my first post and complete novice so please be kind...

My wife bought me a Celestron Astromaster 70 for Christmas and I got really excited. However, I have yet been able to align the star pointer finderscope. I appreciate that there are numerous posts on this subject with many critical of the pointer but my concern is what I'm seeing through it!!!

I have great eyesight (apparently) but I just can't seem to align the circles and dots with both eyes open. I find myself seeing three circles!?!? I just can't seem to focus on it correctly and I can only assume aligning with one eye doesn't work? Well at least I've tried as Jupiter is extremely bright in the sky right now and I'm seeing nothing :(

I would start with the moon but believe it or not tonight is the first clear sky since Christmas and the moon is out of site from the garden.

Can somebody please offer some tips as I'm really struggling before I've really started.

Kind regards,

I only look through the red dot finder with one eye and it works ok for me. it is a real pain in the butt tho!

So one eye is ok? That's good to know. As for turning down the brightness, I hadn't realised this was possible I only saw on on/off switch.

One final question, is there a best practice technique to looking through a telescope? Sorry if that's a ridiculous question.

When I first got an Astromaster 76, I tried everything with the red dot finer- looking through it close to, looking at it from bottom of telescope tube etc etc. The best way I found was to remove the red dot finder (2 screws hold it in place), hit with a large hammer and then use a Telrad instead.

So one eye is ok? That's good to know. As for turning down the brightness, I hadn't realised this was possible I only saw on on/off switch.