Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New to Astronomy Need advice on carry cases and other accessorys.

Hi

Im a complete astronomy beginner and ive just received a celestron Astromaster 76mm EQ telescope as a christmas gift. Now from what i have read i know its not the worlds greatest scope but it should be ok for me to get started with and see some more basic things within our solar system and hopefully give me the astronomy bug that leads to me purchasing better telescopes to see things in more detail and futher away.

The Scope just comes basic with a Tripod and "TheSkyX – First Light Edition” astronomy software with a 10,000 object database, printable sky maps and 75 enhanced images.

Ok so the questions i have are:

• What if any eyepeices and filters should i purchase to get started with?
  • What software/book/websites should i use to help me find different things in space if any?

and the big one for me is what case/bag can i purchase online (from a UK seller) to store and transport this telescope in, sometimes i travel by car sometimes by public transport so i really need some sort of carry case or bag or something for it.

Im also going to try to get along to some of the Sunderland Astronomical Society, wondering if anyone here is a member or anything so i can atleast feel i know someone before i turn up :D

Sorry about the beginner questions and i hope to become more knowlegible.

Thanks in advance and Happy New year :D

It seems to come with a 20mm eyepiece, so you might want a 12mm and an 8mm at some time, maybe a 30mm or 32mm later.

It says, on what I read, a max magnification of 180x, I would say not a chance of managing that, 100x is more realistic.