NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Mount for 1145p Imaging

lawsio

I've got a skyhawk 1145p on a standard EQ1 mount, and I want to start using it for imaging (webcam and digiscoping probably). I've thought of getting the motor for the EQ1 but I'm guessing it won't be stable enough. Can anybody advise what the bare minimum spec I should be looking at? I'm currently eying up the EQ3-2 if this is suitable. I have also looked at the SynScan AZ GOTO but I gather this won't track in the way I need it to for imaging?

What is the practicle differences between single and duel motors?

Hi Ben ....

I stand to be corrected, as I'm quite new to this imaging malarky myself, but I've been looking at the Synscan AZ Goto mount too, and as far as I'm aware it will find and track an object.

As for the individual motors - I think you only need two if you're using a guiding scope, otherwise you just use a single (RA) drive to counteract the rotation of the earth. In other words you find the object manually and then start the motor to keep it in view.

I hope that makes sense :icon_scratch:

If you want to start imaging then the very best thing you can do is buy the book 'Making Every Photon Count' in the FLO book section. If you are looking at imaging DSO's then this really is essential reading. The thing is, what do you want to image? DSO's or Planetary? The requirements are rather different for them.