NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

I need help choosing a telescope!

Firstly, sorry that this is gonna be such a long winded question. Very basically, me and my mum are looking for a new telescope to buy for me and my dad for Christmas, but I'm not sure what exactly I want.

I'm not an amateur astronomer, I have been studying astrophysics and astronomy for quite some time now, but I'm an amateur at actually using the telescope as it isn't the greatest. I've taken a few photos of the moon with it, and seen Jupiter and a couple moons, but that's about it.

I guess I should start by saying that my dad has owned the same telescope for 30 years. Being 30 years old it's seen it's pretty battered and broke. It is a reflecting telescope with an aperture of 6". My dad is into astronomy, but becoming old now he doesn't really bother with things that take more than 5 minutes to use, so I'll have to set everything up for him :]

I'm pretty sure that I'm looking for a reflecting telescope, as I'm hoping to look for deep sky objects, such as star clusters and hopefully even some nebulae. (Okay, I'm really hoping to see some nebulae myself, even if it's not a pristine clear image, it'll still be nice to see it with my own eyes. And I'm also not expecting images like you see from NASA, haha)

It might also be worth noting that I live in a mildly light polluted area.

Another thing I should say is that I'm not sure if it's always the case with modern telescopes, but I'm hoping for a good mount (I believe the term is Equatorial Mount). Something like that, but a mount driven by electronic motors isn't necessarily extremely important, but it'd be nice. Especially for imaging.

I wish I could be more clear in what I want but I'm not an expert at this.