Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New(ish) to astro imaging

broadsword

As the title suggests, I've been attempting inaging for around 6 months, but in reality the awful summer and North West skies has limited me to 5 or 6 intensive nights' activity. However, there has been plenty of time ffor practicing processing!

As I'm starting with modest equipment (large aperture but slow scope, low-end unmodded DSLR, no autoguiding, 8 bit processing software (GIMP)) I'm not expecting miracles but I want to know if I'm getting as much as I could expect to. I've compared my stuff with googled dslr images and some doesn't look too bad, particularly open and globular clusters, but I'm struggling with galaxies possible due to local light pollution (more of which later).

I've got quite a few pics to ask for feedback on, but to begin with my first question relates to open clusters. I wasn't sure whether it's necessary to produce multi-image stacks or just use single exposures. Below are examples of both for M103: a single frame (120s, ISO800), tidied up in the basic EOS sofware package and then a bit in GIMP, and then a DSS stack of 10 or so images (same exposure with darks and bias frames) also processed in GIMP. Both seem to have their merits (smaller stars for single frame, more background stars for the stack) but was wondering what the norm is for OC's? I may have overdone the colours a bit.post-22142-0-37722000-1353445802_thumb.jpost-22142-0-74771300-1353445983_thumb.j

Any other comments much appreciated. If all goes well I'll post some different questions...

You are in focus there and getting fairly round stars without guiding. Very good going.

To progress;

Take multiple subs. These totally transform your signal to noise ratio. Not for nothing have I just taken 12X15 minute subs per colour filter to get our next image to about the half way stage...