NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher Explorer-150P EQ3 Pro SynScan Polar Alignment

amus

Hi i am new to this and i got a Skywatcher Explorer-150P EQ3 Pro SynScan. I was trying to do a Polar Alignment but the "picture" in the polar scope moved when i was trying to center it. And now i dont know were the polar ring shall be when the weight "pod" is straight down along the north "leg" of the stand ? Shall the polar ring be straight down to then or were is the ring ? Can someone check so i can reset it to its right position ?

Thanks

Mikael

Tjena Mikael

Polar alignment can be a bit tricky if you don't know the pinciples behind it.

The polar ring shall be straight down when you want to figure out when polaris transits. With this you can use the clocks on the axis of the mounts to do a polar alignment, since the Synscan handset will tell you when polaris transited.

This is a bit complicated to explain in 2 sentences but I used this video series in several parts to figure it out myself:

If you want me to explain further (or in swedish) just let me know. Hey, if you live close to Märsta I could show you in person ;)

Welcome to SGL!

Hälsningar

Thanks for your quick replays :-)

Carl : Själva bilden i polsökaren har lossnat och jag vet inte hur den sitter "fabriksinställd" pekar ringen där polstjärnan ska vara i neråt när man har motvikts "röret" neråt med eller hur är det inställt från början ? Läste detta :

The optical axis of the Polar scope is already aligned with the rotation axis of the mount and can not be adjusted. This is set permanently at the factory. The reticule in the Polar scope must be centred on the optical axis of the Polar scope. When this is done, the reticule in the Polar scope will be parallel to the rotation axis of the mount. If this is not the case, accurate polar alignment will not be possible.