Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Observing in or around Milton Keynes

wilkie

Hi. There are 2 Astro societies in MK:

Milton Keynes Astronomical Society

www.mkastro.org.uk

Open University Astronomy Club

www.ouastro.co.uk

Both of them focus more on talks and social gatherings although both do have observing sessions from time to time.

MKAstro is certainly a good place to go to meet people and get advice.

• 1 year later...

Hello there

I am new to Stargazerslounge.com (just signed up today) and came across this forum as I am looking to join a local astronomy club in the Milton Keynes area.

I have looked at Nene Valley Astronomical Society in Northamptonshire as in addition to member evenings, they have regular observing sessions and the light pollution isn't too bad. Milton Keynes Astronomical Society is closer to where I live and although I hear their "astromeets" are very good and very informative, I get the impression from reading some other forums that they don't undertake too many actual observing sessions.

Can anyone enlighten me?    

many thanks

Keith

Hello, and welcome to SGL.

MKAS meet alternate Fridays in Bletchley and always welcome new members.

We do have an observing group that meets periodically at a relatively dark spot just outside MK but it is generally adhoc based on weather conditions. Generally organised via email on the day.

But come along and meet us, and you can find out more.

We also have regular speakers covering a wide variety is subjects.

There is also an OU Astronomical Society that meets monthly, and organises activities at their observatory, though I think that is more science focused (eg spectroscopy) than pure observing.

Dave

Hello, and welcome to SGL.

MKAS meet alternate Fridays in Bletchley and always welcome new members.