Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

The William Optics GTF 81APO, and some questions surrounding it

Hello!

Since this is my first time writing here I thought that a short introduction might be appropriate.

My name is Tobias and i live in a small town in the middle of Sweden, about the same height as Stockholm, giving me some pretty nice night skies in the dark part of the year. I've always been interested in space and everything it contains so a couple of years ago i decided to buy a small newtonian (4,5" I believe) on a EQ1 mount. Of course I'm craving for more so I have been saving up for an upgrade. I have already bought a couple of televue eyepieces, which are awesome btw. So now it's time for me to upgrade the rest.

What I have decided to get is the HEQ5. What I have a harder time with is the telescope. But I'm seriously considering the William Optics GTF 81Apo from teleskop-express.

First of all, I think it's sexy as hell! Would'nt mind having it as a decorative piece in my apartment when I'm not using it. Secondly I'm not looking for a newtonian. Living in a small apartment portability will be very important. And to be able skip the collimation part will be greatly appreciated. So an APO seems the way to go for me.

So to the reasons I'm writing here.. Is it a good piece to buy? I have tried looking for some information but not found much. Anyone here have any knowledge about it and can recommend it?

What I want to do with it is mainly astrophotography with my Canon 60D, if it's not too heavy? What will I be able to capture using that telescope? I want to learn taking good DSOs and I understand the process of taking them (Yes, I have ordered Making every photon count, it hasnt arrived yet though) but will some DSOs be out of my reach with the small apparture? Taking into account possible guiding in the future.