Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

polaris alignment problem

Hi all,i own a eq5 synscan goto mount and a celestron c8 xlt scope.im fairly new to astronomy,i did own a skywatcher 102 scope which i never really had problems with,my question is since i bought the c8 and fixed it to the mount then i alighned the mount to polaris i cant see polaris through my scope,i set my telrad and i can see it through that ok but i still cant see it through my c8 scope,im sure ive alighned it correctly as ive done it before with my old scope on the mount and never had a problem.but ive been 3 nights trying figure out what i doing wrong,surely if i can see it through my telrad i should be able see it through my scope?

You are not aligning the scope to polaris, you are aligning the mount to polaris.

Doesn't matter where the scope points it is the mount that is set up, otherwise you will do nothing other then look at polaris.

Look at it like this: Take the scope off, align the mount, then reattach the scope. You do not need a scope on the thing.

Forget aligning the scope, ignore the scope, do not look through the scope.

By the way Polaris is not on the polar axis, so if the scope were completely aligned with the mount then when you align the mount to the polar axis you are actually aiming off of Polaris so it shouldn't be in view in the scope unless like the finder it has a wide field of view.

Best bit of advise I've ever had when I was starting up.

Take your mount outside, and lock your telescope in the house until you have polar aligned your mount. It's very hard when setting up the mount to get confused with the telescope too.

Polar align your mount, then add your OTA to your telescope. Your telescope doesn't need to see Polaris just your mount. :)

Rob