NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Enjoyable Session Last Night 14/8/12

webboid

I got my scope in May this year & as a complete newbie it has been a steep learning curve. But with more cloud than clear skies I have almost exclusively dedicated myself to learning all I can. As I look after my elderly, disabled Mum full time I do not have to worry about getting up for work, so I have plenty of time but a limited income.

The sky was looking good early evening so I set up early to allow the scope to cool down. Around 10.30pm I went out for my first session. Originally my plan was to spend time in Persius, but neighbours were out with floodlights on so that bit of sky was awful. So I decided to have a look in the higher sky. Albireo first, always delightful then to the double double. I split this at 154x but not any lower. Seeing not great I guess. Whilst in that area I had a revisit to M56 again at 154x could see some of the stars in this globular. I then had a look at M13, my first DSO I ever viewed with my own scope. This time was the best I've ever seen it. Many stars visible direct & averted vision plus I thought I could discern the propeller. A wow moment for me. Next I moved up nearer to the pole & observed "the garnet star" in Cepheus. Not as red as I expected but obvious all the same. Then on to a new constellation for me, Draco.