Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Astrophotography / Nikon D3100

Hi everyone,

Absolute beginner here :)

I wanted to ask your advice about astrophotography gear within a specific budget (about 200 quid). I'm asking about the telescope, already have the camera (a Nikon D3100), just got my T-Ring delivered today, still waiting next week for the T-Adapter and a timer remote control.

For the moment I have a Celestron Astromaster 70az, but thinking of replacing it pretty soon with a more "powerful" one (who knows, maybe I get lucky enough to get some decent DSO photos).

With the infos I found on the forum I was thinking maybe "Sky-Watcher Explorer-130M (EQ2) Motorised Newtonian Reflector Telescope" (http://www.wexphotog...glebase#details) would be a good choice?

Or if you guys have other ideas, any advice is more than welcome.

Cheers,

George

• 3 weeks later...

Well, in the meantime I've made up my mind and with the budget I got at my disposal (hehe, some extra hours at work) it's gonna be a Skywatcher Explorer 130M (motorised) with an EQ2 mount, just ordered it last night. I know maybe not the best choice but I wanted one with a motor drive for taking some pictures with the DSLR. Of course, hoping to get a bigger/better one in one year or so :)

Keeping my fingers crossed and hoping for clear skies.

hi and welcome , im sure you will have some reults with the scope and mount , i too have a d3100 , the only problem i find is its hard to get a good focus ,as it does not have live view , now if you find the extra pennies to get hold of a motorised eq3 ,it would be much more capable for astrophotography as its much more stable than an eq2 ,and can carry a small scope and a camera