Telescope questions?

I'm new to astronomy but I want to buy a telescope that can view the sun/moon/ and some planets. That's all I want to start with. My price range is low like 60-100$ at most... Anyone recommend the best one for my needs? I appreciate any feedback.

Hi there!

I'm afraid that with a price range that low there aren't a lot of options if you want to buy new. This is what you're looking at: http://www.telescope.com/Telescopes/Dobsonian-Telescopes/Mini-Dobsonians/pc/1/c/12/28.uts They won't give very sharp views, though. The reason for that is the mirrors are what we call "very fast." Meaning that they have a small focal ratio (about f/4). Google telescope focal ratio and looking on the stickies in this forum. Fast telescopes need precisely made eyepieces (which cost more and those scopes don't come with such eyepieces) for sharp views. The scopes will work, but they may be a struggle to use. The second hand market can produce bargains, but you'd need a little experience before jumping into that. I think your best bet is to see if you can track down a local club. Many clubs will lend telescopes to members and you can go and look through other members' scopes at viewing nights. You may even get a scope for free or very cheap from a fellow member. Binoculars are another idea, but they won't be of much help with planets. With binos and a star chart you can track down the brighter Messier objects.

I appreciate the feedback! So for my needs and a clear view, what price range should I save up for and look at? Also, where would I even go about finding local clubs? I'm in a small city so I'm not sure if there would even be any here... Thanks again for the help though! It's much appreciated I have always been amazed by astronomy and now that I'm older I can get seriously into it....