Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

2nd stepper motor control question

fwm891

I'm currently using and Arduino Uno and Easydriver (+SGL codes) to control my focuser. I'm looking to run the scope remotely and need to add a second stepper to control the focus on the OAG camera.

Whats the best way to do this?

Can I use the same Uno via a second easydriver board and a second instance of the SGL code?

Really need an idiots guide here...

Many thanks

I'm just getting into Arduinos too :) Maybe we could do with a general Arduino thread covering the various versions plus control and sensor modules etc. I intend making one or two focusers. I have an Arduino Nano on order for my camera cooling temperature control.

Can I use the same Uno via a second easydriver board and a second instance of the SGL code?

Theoretically one Arduino can drive many EasyDriver boards, only limited by the number of I/O pins on the Arduino. You need 2 pins per EasyDriver (STEP and DIR) or 3 pins if you want to be able to power down the EasyDriver from the Arduino. With minimal Arduino code change you could then run one stepper at a time. Being able to control several steppers at the same time would require significant code changes.

But (there always has to be a "but" :-) ).....

The control software on the PC side (i.e. the ASCOM driver or the Standalone app) must be designed to control several steppers in *one* application. The PC and the Arduino communicate over *one* (virtual) COM port. Any one COM port can only be opened from one application. So you can't just run several instances of the PC software. Only the first would work. Any subsequent instances will not be able to open the COM port.

Hi Chris, I've moved this thread to:

Mainly because where Gina started her beginners thread my original question got somehow lost...