Telescope Advice

So, I've had my mind set on the Celestron NexStar 130SLT for sometime now and am planning on buying one within the next month. However, after gleaning over some posts here at SGL and checking out some videos and reviews, I'm starting to lean towards the Celestron Sky-Watcher 8in. Dobsonian.

Both are within my dollar range so money isn't an issue. Just wondering if anyone can give some advice or personal stories they've experienced with either one or both. I know I really like the computerized aspect of the NexStar, is the Sky-Watcher much harder to find or track things with being manual? Thanks for any help!

Hi and welcome to SGL

I have owned / own both scopes in your thread starter and I would like to offer my opinion.

I started out with the 130SLT as my first scope approx 5-6 years ago as the logic was simple - it was a Goto scope so learning the sky would be easier. In my experience this wasn't the case as I was a total newbie to astronomy even though its a lifelong interest. In reality I was too busy learning how to use the Goto setup to actually use the scope and do any real astronomy. Also, I used AA-cell batteries rather than a powerpack so the scope kept using up the power in no time at all and kept losing alignment. The tripod was lightweight and was easily knocked against when in use so I lost alignment this way as well. I finally abandoned using the scope and eventually sold it to a member of my astro club. I used basic non Goto scopes in the interim.