Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi all,

This is my first try at using my camera's 18-55 lens and using a time exposure.

My sky is lousy but you can still see a fair bit...

Ursa Major brushing the trees:

ursa_major_whole.png

Cropped from the above image - Mizar and Alcor centred:

mizar_alcor_centred.png

And cropped at full size:

mizar_alcor_full.png

The surprising thing is that faintest stars in there that I'm sure of are mag 9.5...

...though I'm not sure what the bright red dot is.

These are all unprocessed - so it must be time to play... :) One playtime will be sorting out piggy backing on my scope so that I can track.

Star hopping to M 101:

and%20M101.png

Hi there nice first go ,if this was on a camera tripod it's fine,now try take in 10x30secs of ursa major .then put he lens cap on and take 10 x30 secs you can stack hem in dep sky staker it's free,.the dark fames might help with the orange,did you try to removevhevcolor cast?

Great first wide field

Umm...

It was on a tripod. I wasn't up to setting up my 300P two nights in a row for piggybacking.

I take that "dep sky staker" is "deep sky stacker"?

Yes, a next trial would be to stack a number of shots. Again I think I'd wait until I can piggyback so that aligning will be easier.

I tried tweaking the colour balance but every time I reduced the red "some" the picture turned more green or blue and still looked wrong - just wrong with a different tint. Obviously I've got lots to learn about processing.

Oh, and I'd photo'd in Raw+Fine jpg and those are all from the jpg, so I might well do better when I have a go at the raw file.

Homework for today :)

Hokay,

I grabbed the raw file this time and tweaked temperature first and got the histograms showing RGB peaks to line up better, then a little touch on saturation to get them even closer.

Now the trees are green without making the whole image green :)

um_fromraw_tempandsattweaked.png