Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Detailed advice on newtonians - help needed.

I have a 130p SW Explorer/650mm-fl and having persistent issues with collimation/image quality and as i'm new to collimating I really dont know which is the greater problem.

First, with collimating, I have got a basic cheshire and am pretty much guessing by lining up the mirror donut with the reflection of the cheshire hole (As in the intstructions). There still seems to be alot of room for errors, as well as being reluctant to fiddle with the secondary as its very delicate and I dont know for sure what to do with it.

Also the star test is difficult as the focuser imposes on the image creating a straight edge (small but noticable) when defocused and again I dont know for sure what to do while startesting with the adjustments and angles etc.

I really have been trying to get my scope collimated for months now and need help as i'm out of ideas, and my image is suffering in quality especially at high magnification (BTW with a 130p what is the highest magnification I can get ie 4mm plossl or 5x barlow? Or other combinations?) because it gets blurry at high power and also in a medium power something like venus has a kind of multiple ghost-like image, like replicas grouped around the main, brightest, image.

I really feel a little out of my depth now, could use the expert advice of a kind, knowledgable astronomer out there. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Regards,

Jay.

:(:confused::(:confused:

Collimation involves fiddling with the secondary. If you only adjust the primary then you can't achieve collimation. You have to get over your fear and just do it. Here are a load of useful links: Rob Campbell's Home Page

Pay particular attention to the first three links. Read them carefully. Ask here if you have questions.

The reason your star test looks as it does is because you haven't adjusted the secondary.