NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What is the best Astrophotography camera in the market?

doseri

Hi all

In Astrophotography world there are Many camera in the market and many Companies Products to select From, I am not a Beginner In Astrophotography, BUT I cannot pick out one ,there for i like from the members to choose the best and the lowest price for Astrophotography CAMERA in the below points:

1-ccd Size

2- Monochrome CCD vs Color CCD

3- Performance

3- the low price to get

4- Companies Products to select From

wait for you choose

Beat regards

sam

I think people would like to see a budget, if you autoguide, your scope mount ect, it would all help to make the right selection..

hi

the budget about 3000$ and do not have auto guide but i have meade deep sky imager 1 pro i will use it for auto-guiding :)

Ahhh, the old question. You want the best and the lowest cost. :)

I think you can have one or the other - but not both at the same time.

Personally, if I was spending 3,000 USD I'[d be looking at a Starlight Xpress or an ATIK model. After that, it comes down to personal preferenceces. Do you want a Colour one-shot or a Mono camera + filter wheel? Do you want wide fields or detailed planetary images.

Also consider whether youi'll need to buy any processing software to get the best out of you $$$$$$ camera - or is freeware good enough for what you want.

Wish you could remove the Bayer layer from a DSLR then you could have a half-frame sensor of reasonable sensitivity for around three hundred quid plus some DIY and Peltier TEC.

I would go for an Atik 4000 mono. Atik are excellent cameras and, although I have less experience of other makes, I do have some. I'm not convinced by SX or QHY reliability.

SBIG seem fine and QSI are superb but expensive.