Telescope Upgrade - 8se vs c8-sgt????

Evening everyone!!

I am looking to upgrade my telescope to a slightly bigger one - I curently own a Celestron Nexstar 6 SE - I was just about to jump straight in and go for the 8 SE as that seemed the obvious and easiest choice, but Ive just spotted the Celestron C8-SGT.

I just wondered if anyone owned one of these and if they would recommend it? I am just starting out in AP so I need to stick with a GOTO/Tracking telescope. The C8 has this, and also has a Equatorial mount - big plus in AP - the 8se does not. I have a budget of £1500.

The only obviously differences in the two, other than the mount is the weight - which, living on a second floor flat is a bit of a issue for me - I need something relativly portable to be able to take outside, however my boyfriend is always willing to lend a hand so as long as I can detatch the tube from the mount then this shouldnt be an issue.

I no there are a million other options out there but I dont have acres of space in my flat so the catadioptric telescopes are a perfect size and portability for me!

Thanks again in advance!

Claire :p

The C8 SGT as it has an EQ mount (quite a considerable advantage in terms of AP), it should be just as manageable as a 8SE, as it can put into 3 pieces and re-assembled, but always remember the best scope is the one you will use the most!

I have just reread your post and reconsidering if space is an issue for you get an heq5 and ed80 for imaging and keep the nexstar for visual then look around for a 2nd user c8 ota if you want to upgrade. with what you would get for the c6 tube you should be able to manage all 3

If you are considering imaging then look at a combination involving an HEQ5 - it's widely regarded as the minimum you need for effective imaging.

I went from an 8SE mount to HEQ5 setup and the difference in stability was jaw dropping!

cs,

- Jason

glossary for numbers used

heq5- First Light Optics - Skywatcher HEQ5 PRO Synscan