Help for a complete noob

Hi all,

As mentioned in my introduction thread, I recently got the bug after watching Stargazing Live, since then I have taken a few shots of the stars from my house, with a Nikon D3 and a 50mm 1.8...

I have now purchased a Skywatcher 150PDS with a EQ5 Pro Goto mount. I received the order the other day, I've set everything up, but I actually am struggling to get things going.... I've read about Polar alignment (stuggling with that - can't seem to grasp how to set my mount up), I've tried a 3 star alignment with my goto (didn't work - I guess u have to polar align first?), and now I'm really confused about what to do...

I've read a few links from here (astro baby?) and watched a guy on you tube in his living room setup up his mount.. but I think thats intended for a beginner who knows a little about dials, polar alignment etc, I finished watching that and was more confused than I was before I watched it.

Can someone help me please?

Do you live near a local astronomy club? If you do I would suggest taking your kit with you and someone will be more than happy to walk you through your first polar alignment and goto setup. it took me a couple of attempts to fully understand it so don't worry - you'll get there in the end!

Hi Leigh,

I live in Carterton but unfortunately I am also very new to the hobby so not able to help with your questions. Nice to see someone else in the area on here though! I am currently looking for some help with collimation in our area as well. I kinda think I might have totally screwed the collimation on my scope last night while trying collimate it! Tried and tried to put it right but failed miserably! I have sent a mail to T4 in witney to see if they can help. Hope you find some help.

Hi Leigh,