NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Which eye pieces should I buy ?

Hi all. I'm a beginner and need some help with eye pieces.

I have only the 3 basic eye pieces that came with the scope (celestron 114). I'm led to belive these aren't great quality eps, so would like to get to get a few to offer good viewings of a range of astronimcal objects.

What should I get and where should I get them. Also, are eye pices standard fittings so can slot into any scope ?

Thanks

You can as much as you want on eyepieces! How much are you looking to spend on a set or each piece? A good quality Barlow lens would be a good buy too.

There's basically 3 sizes of fitting. 0.965", 1.25" and 2". All you really need to worry about for your scope would be 1.25" fittings.

Tony..

Some scopes come supplied with .965" eyepieces. The barrel of these is a little smaller than the average thumb. Most .965" focusers usually have an insert that can be removed to facilitate using 1.25" eyepieces. The 1.25" eyepieces are a little larger than your thumb.

Plossl eyepieces are a good choice for a beginner. They have a reasonable field of view (52 degrees) and are made by almost all manufacturers. I would suggest a 30 - 32mm eyepiece, a 12mm eyepiece, and a 2x Barlow. This will give you four useful magnifications, and will not overpower your scope.

Some manufacturers sell kits which include several Plossl eyepieces, filters, and a barlow lens. These are usually a good deal. Celestron has a kit.

Thanks for the advice so far.

I'm looking at the Revelation kit from First Optics, and Celestrons Eyeopner kit. They are similraly priced. The Celestron kit also comes with a 2 x Barlow. (I have a 3xBarlow that came with the scope, but don't know if it's any good).

Both kits have a set of colour filters.

Which one would be better ?