Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron 5SE and motors

Hello all

I am a newbie to Astronomy but am lovin it all so far except for one thing.

Has anyone else been having problems with the motors on the Celestron Nexstar SE models esp 4SE or 5SE?

The first one I received on my 5SE had a faulty alt motor after a few days. The second had an error 16 out the box with the hand controller regardless if I used batteries or the charger. I managed to get one working example from 2 duds and sent back the faulty bits.

But now the motor on the azi is beginning to slow in one direction. I really cant be bothered to send it back again because the scope is good and I was wondering if there was a quick fix.

Some mention too much factory lubrication clogging the motors? Is anything I could look at?

Any insight or instruction on how to fix would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Tim

• 1 year later...
  • 4 weeks later...

Hi' fitted the new motor' what a pain stripping the caseing off!! The motor fit only took a few mins , all working fine but today the RA motor started slowing a gain! Oh no! I've been emailing Steve at flo, the modal boat battery i was useing was the wrong amp and voltage, even though it said 12volt 8amp!! But then in small writing said 20hrs @ 10.8 volts!!! So I tried the battery charger on the cable spade ends,on the power lead, switched to hi has low don't work, the motors are a lot quicker and quieter than with battery, so Iinformed Steve at flo he reckons it should be OK with the correct power 12v 7 amp!! Ive ordered a 12v 7 amp battery.see if this works if not be a power tank!!

• 2 weeks later...