NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Confused about EQMOD & Autoguiding

Hi Everybody,

I'm Gerard from the Netherlands. I'm fairly new to astronomy. Years ago I owned a simple Meade 114mm Newton and enjoyed looking at things in the sky but was never really serious about it because my equipment didn't allow it. Now, years later, I'm finally hoping to do some astrophotography. I have bought a used EQ6 mount and a nice GSO 8" F4 Newton. I have an EQMOD USB to serial cable and last night I hooked it up to my laptop to give it a shot.

2 n00b questions :( :

I use Stellarium and Stellariumscope to "talk" to the mount. Everything worked nice. I got the "connected" message and with a rough polar alignment I could start the alignment procedure. This is where EQMOD constantly started crashing and giving me a "not responding". If I waited too long before reconnecting to Stellariumscope, the alignment star would drift away and I could start all over again. After a couple of tries, I just used one alignment star instead of 3 and the EQMOD program sometimes didn't crash with only 1 star but accuracy was a bit off. I use Windows 7 64-bit, have 3GB or RAM and a AMD Turion CPU in my laptop. Is there a decent fix for this or is my EQMOD cable to blame? By the way, I was using the direction keys in EQMOD to center the star, I wasn't using a gamepad. Maybe with a gamepad it'll be more stable?