Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

19mm televue panoptic

saturn10

I've owned a Panoptic 24mm Rob and that was a superb eyepiece showing as much sky as a 1.25" will show and sharp stars right across the field of view even in fast scopes. I believe the 19mm is just as good. In your scope the 19mm will give you 105x and will show around .64 of a degree of sky. It would be great for many deep sky objects such as globular clusters and planetary nebulae and smaller galaxies.

Hi John,

I am quite new to astronomy and are not sure what to buy.

All we need is a clear night and I will follow your advice.

Recently I have bought 9mm and 11mm naglers and 8mm & 13mm TV plossls, plus this 19mm panoptic.

Do I need a 24mm one as well?

thanks,

Rob

I have a 19mm Panoptic and it is an excellent ep, nice and comfortable to use, good eye relief with no black outs. x105 is a very good power for viewing many DSO's add to that the 68 degree FOV and it could well spend a lot of time in your focuser.

You need a spread of magnifications Rob.

In your scope the 8mm plossl would give 250x which will be the max you can use on most nights. The 9mm and 11 Naglers will give 222x and 182x which are quite close together and still high powers really. The 13mm plossl will give 154x but the 11mm Nagler will show more sky than it ! (due to the Nagler's much larger field of view). You 19mm Panoptic at 105x does fill a medium power gap but I think you also should consider a 32mm plossl which will give you 63x and show as much sky as a 1.25" eyepiece can. If you decide to go into some 2" eyepieces you can get a wider field of view but you will need a 2" diagonal as well, so more £'s.

I wonder if your 13mm plossl would get much use to be honest - something around 15mm might be a little more useful (133x).