Novice after advice

Hello I could do with some advice as I am rather new to astronomy and would benefit from your combined expertise!

I recently purchased a Meade etx-90 after hunting around for some time and considering what I should go for. I am happy with the scope but am having a few challenges around astrophotography that I was hoping you could advise me on. (perhaps the advice is get another scope but I hope not :))

First issue is one around tracking as I have been attempting to capture images of Jupiter. Given its brightness at present its a great target for me to practice on. I am using a 2 x Barlow along with a Philips SPC900 webcam but even having done alignment (2 star not Polar btw) the image very quickly moves out of shot and I have to continually adjust, I can hear the scope tracking (its not set for terrestrial) but clearly its not quick enough.

Second question is what is the best I can expect to get in terms of quality of image? I am struggling to get good focus on the screen which perhaps is just the way it is (IE should I be doing this without the Barlow)?

I have found both wxAstro Capture, and Registrax to stack the images. The best I have managed to get so far is included here but isnt really that great compared to the amazing shots I see on the site.

Any advice on how I can improve would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance for your help

Gordo

Jupiter_20111027_2218_46.bmp

Gordo.

First things first - welcome to the fold.

I have found that Sharpcap works rearly well with the SPC900.

I am not up with the scope you are using but if it is not keeping up in the tracking I would check the clutches as it sounds like they are slipping.

Fear not they will be someone along very shortly who will know your setup inside out and will put you right.

graham

Thanks Graham I appreciate your help