Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First attempt at a couple of brighter DSO's

Chris

Hi guys,

I'm Just starting out with a bit of Astrophotraphy and thought I'd give a couple of the usual suspects a go:)

M42- 4x10 and 1x15 seconds exposure (I think) at ISO 400.

Pleiades - 12x10 seconds exposure ISO 400.

Stacked in Deep Sky Stacker and tweeked in Photo Pro.

kit - Antares 80mm f/6 refracter on a RA driven EQ5 mount plus Cannon D1100 SLR.

Advice would be more than welcome, especially about getting better tracking out of my mount as I'm struggling to get 20 seconds at present (hence short subs) with reasonable polar scope allignment:)

Regards Chris.

post-28797-133877685595_thumb.jpg

post-28797-133877685601_thumb.jpg

Great start Chris, you've teased out a fair bit of detail given the very short exposure times!

You should be able to get up to a couple of minutes per sub with a good polar alignment. Make sure the reticle is aligned properly on you polar scope - this is a bit gotcha! Periodic error will probably creep in on a few exposures, but you should get enough good ones to stack an image. The more the better, I aim for at least 50 subs per image now.

Once you've got that sorted, try ISO-800. You'll find it a bit noisier but you will pick up more signal and with enough subs, the noise will stack out.

Hi Chris, Thats a good effort considering you have only just started out in astro photography. I'm very much in the same boat with regards to the gear I'm using, an un-guided EQ3-2 and F5 refractor. My next target is M45 then I will move onto M42 once its about at a sensible time. The orion neb is alway a pleasing target to image even with the shortest of exposures.