Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What software?

Star Gazer

I'm a real newbie when it comes to astro software, does anyone know where I can find some good detailed reviews. There seems to be a lot of great software out there, but its difficult to see the various pros and cons. Much of what's out there seems quite expensive, so I need to make sure I spend my money wisely.

The three that seem to stand out are:

Astroart

PixInsight

Maxim DL

Maxim DL is probably too expensive for me. PixInsight looks absolutely fantastic in Harry's Astro Shed tutorials, but the interface doesn't look very intuitive and I'd be concerned that if I bought PixInsight I would have to stick to the workflows in in Harry's videos. May be Astroart is for me, but I don't have a good feel for how easy it is to use? However before I discount any package I'd really like to know what people think of these packages., or others I should consider.

Initially I want to be able to capture images with my DSLR and then stack them. I'd also like to be able to remove light pollution as my DSLR is unmodified. If it can assist in focusing and control the mount so much the better.

I always suggest IRIS.

Iris software

It is great for pre-processing. But it isn't photoshop, I've yet to encourage it to do layers.

It does do direct comms to Canon DSLR and webcams, and has lots of different stacking algorithums.

Best bit: it's free.

Derek

For just plain stacking of raw images, it would be hard to beat Deep Sky Stacker. It is free ( free is GOOD ! ) and there is a large forum devoted to Q&A that is often answered directly by the author of the software, himself!