Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Meade LDX 75 with an Imagingsource DMK 41

NASA GSFC Intern

Hello everyone,

I've posted an introduction thread in the welcome forum, so I'm going off my conversation from there.

I feel like there is a pretty simple answer to all of this, so here it goes... We are using a Meade LXD 75 and want to use an Imagingsource DMK 41 with it. From what I understand, the current setup we are using has the focus pushed back too far away from the camera to allow the DMK's CCD to see anything. I'm pretty new to all of this high end stuff, so any help I could get would be greatly appreciated!

Yes, I used the search function. Maybe I just don't know the right terms yet?

Thank you everyone for your time,

-Anthony

hi anthony , which variant of the ldx are you using ? is it the sn8 or sn10 or the refractor or schmidt cassigrain or newt ?? ,, each one of these different designs will have a different requirment as to how far the chip or camera is located to achive focus , i think a schmit cass will need an extension tube to focus ,whereas a newt will not need an extension ..im sure a more knowledgeable member will pop along soon .. cheers

First, thank you everyone for the quick replies!

hemihaggis,

I'll have to get back to you on the answers to your questions. I don't have unlimited access to the telescope right now, so the next chance I get, I'll get all the answers. I'm not sure I'm familiar with all the terminology your using. Does sn8 refer to the diameter of the lens? We are using an 8 inch telescope, if that helps sort out anything. I do apologize, I'm picking up where other interns left off from the summer, so I don't have all the information I'd like to have.

StevieDvd,