NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

help with eyepieces

allen g

Hi all. One year new to astronomy and just joined SGL. Found the posts highly informative. I want to thank Ant for his welcome and assistance and Andrew for his article and expert advice is suggesting some eyeieces. I will be attending the Pacific Astronomy and Telescope show this coming weekend in Pasadena Calif (reside in Southern California where we have warm and good weather most of the year. I intend to pick up some eyepieces as they discount them at the show for my Meade LX 90 ACF 8" scope (with diagonal that converts from 1.25 to 2). As a semi-retired professor I intend to enjoy every opportunity to view the skies after a lifetime conducting research and waiting to get involved in astronomy. Anyway, has anyone had the experience of using ethos eyepieces on this scope or a similar type of scope. I was thinking of the 10 but also a 17 or 21 mm. Very much appreciate your input and guidance. From sunny california, allen g.

Hi - welcome to SGL

The Baader Hyperion eyepieces work very well with most scopes and are available in the 17mm and 21mm focal lengths. An alternative in the USA would be the Orion Stratus range which are very close to being clones of the Hyperions and again get positive reviews from schmidt-cassegrain users.

not quite the same scope but I have a 6" f11 dobsonian. with the 13mm Ethos this is an excellent combination with magnification of 123x and a true field of 0.8 degrees. Personally though I would sooner have two Naglers than one Ethos. If I were considering say a 21 Ethos, I'd probably more likely go for a 26mm Nagler plus a 17mm Nagler which would not be much more expensive and for me give a really excellent field and a very easy/comfortable (to the field stop) view. I have a 26mm Nagler and love it too.

Hi Allen, you're more than welcome.