more ep advice please?

I just can't work out what would be a better bet for my 150x1200/f8 dob.

I'm looking at getting a low power wide angle ep for some nice big sky and dso viewing. Am looking at 30 and 36mm 2" Meade QX eps, but don't know if the limit of my scope will make one an obvious choice over the other. Does anyone have a suggestion as to what would be better?

Also looking at one high power ep for planets and am thinking of the 5.5mm Meade 5000 suoer plossl. But would the approx x220 mag be too hard to use or be to high for the seeing on most nights?

Any thoughts gratefully received!

Hi Henry

I have no experience of the 30mm & 36mm QX but a word of warning the 26mm QX is THE worst eyepiece I have ever used.

Not that that means the rest of the range are useless but I would definitely try before buying.

By contrast the 5.5mm series 5k plossl is an excellent eyepiece.

Regards Steve

Regarding a planetary ep, think about an 8mm Baader Hyperion. If you get the fine tuning rings, you have an eyepiecce with 4 focal lengths. On your scope, this would give you x150 to x280, which is a good range. x220 is realistic on a good night. I tend to work between x150 and x200 on planets.

I own an 8mm Hyperion and I am very pleased with it. Great contrast, but a bit of CA.

hi Henry,

You have an excellent scope and it will be a good all rounder and easily maintained.

I think 220x will be usable on a fairly regular basis, especially on the moon and double stars. for planets the maximum magnification varies a lot dependent on seeing from maybe 100x at worst to perhaps 220x-250x at best - very occasionally 300x is possible but rarely.

did you get a decent barlow with your scope? if not, this might be a good option (something like the Tal 2x sold by FLO First Light Optics - Tal).