Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Autostart 494 HELP!!!

Hello all, I am brand new to this forum, I have read a great deal and most of the information came from this site. I have a problem that may require some expertise as I am relatively new to computerized controllers. I cannot setup the alignment on the Meade Autostar 494 for the life of me. I picked up a Meade DS-114AT scope on craiglist for dirt cheap. Seemed like a good deal compared to my current "fine tune knob" scope. Anyways....

The problem I am encountering is that the alignment does not even come close to the target star! Also, i tried the 2-star alignment, i end up having to adjust the speed to accommodate the gap and it comes up with "alignment failed" The mount i have is an AZ/ALT mount, it is overshooting azimuth and undershooting altitude. I have tried many configurations, manually set location and timezone, accurate time, trained drives, testes motors and everything checked out fine. I modified the AZ/ALT percentage with no result. upon reading a forum I went in and modified the ratio and it gave me a huge degree of difference that was not desirable. I changed it back to default setting. 

I don't really care for the autostar as far as navigation is concerned as I can identify and point a scope to what i desire to look at manually. Just want to utilize the motors for a stable photograph.

What I am trying to accomplish is the Auto-tracking feature of the motorized mount. I read through the manual and it indicated that this alignment must take place in order for it to work....I tried it several times and i believe the manual to be true. once my object was located i cannot get it to stay in focus, it seems like it is almost on reverse, i hear the motors going but it cannot stay in view. I have searched far and wide for a solution with nothing to offer as far as what could be done with the information provided.