SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New Altair GPCAM First Light on a couple of DSOs

Davesellars

This is a great little camera - I bought the mono version thanks to Tring astro who were great about changing the first one quickly as it arrived with a large crack in the protective glass.  I'm primarily interested in DSOs and confess I'm just starting out with AP - i've had a go before with a DSLR  but wanted a dedicated little cam to start that I could use for auto-guiding duties with the DSLR and also on its own no guiding for smaller DSOs and trying out some black and white narrow-band imaging (just using a visual Astronomik UHC filter at the moment), but will get a H-alpha filter soon.

I had an opportunity on Saturday night while is was clear for a short while and picked up M11 and M16 both with a single 2 minute exposure and UHC filter using AltairCapture with its automatic dark frame integration.  Using the demo of Nebulosity 4 to post-process a little (don't really know what i'm doing in this department though I must confess!)

So, I've got a lot to learn but the results look reasonably promising especially if I do darks properly and stack multiple subs I'm sure I can get some decent results....

Taken with the Skywatcher 80ED (no focal reducer)

post-38405-0-25271500-1442215579_thumb.j

post-38405-0-81390700-1442215586_thumb.j

Bought the colour version of this camera a short while back. While waiting for the planets to rise at a more social hour I also tried it out on a couple of DSO's. Had trouble with focusing a little and trying to find them, plus tracking issue with my EQ2 mount (yes I know, but its fine for planets!). I was quite impressed at its sensitivity but couldn't get any shots due to exposure times and the tracking issues with my mount. Still, I look forward to more practice with it and it was at least a useful excercise to try out the altair capture software, which I also found quite easy and intuitive to use.