Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I am a noob to astronomy. 

For the last few weeks I have been reading up on my new hobby, wife not happy about another hobby (lol). Although, after showing off Jupiter and Orion I may have a new awesome stargazing partner!  Anyway, I have an Omni XLT 150 Newtonian. This being my first scope there was no reference as to what is good and bad. Read a few reviews on before I purchased it off of craigslist.

Scope needed some TLC. Cleaned the primary and secondary mirrors (after reading and watching several tutorials), cleaned out the tube, tightened the spider screws on the tube and secondary mirror (screw holding secondary was almost unscrewed probably from being calibrated and never checked how far unscrewed it was). The eyepieces that came with the scope were okay. An omni 32, vixen 20, vixen 13, celestron 8 - 24 zoom and an omni 2x barlow. The eyepieces are all between 40 - 60 degree AFOV. A laser collimator also came with the scope.

Having used the scope a few times I've notice a few things. The eyepieces needed to go. Well, at the time it was my belief the poor images were due to the quality of the eyepieces. So, I bought the 31mm and 10mm Celestron Luminous eyepieces with the 2.5x Luminous Barlow. Was looking at Explore Scientific's 82 degree AFOV line but went with Celestron due to price. What an amazing difference! Will be picking up the rest of the luminous line when I can.  After being blinded by the Moon, you read about it but us rebels don't believe that it could be that bad, I bought a Lumicon #80A and ND13. Again, wow, what a difference. Also picked up a Celestron LPR filter. Not sure about that one yet. Seems to turn every thing blue. Not sure if it really creates a darker background.