SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Dew and dew heaters

Total newbie question coming I'm afraid, but at least it'll be quick to answer:

A few nights ago I had the scope out and doing a spot of viewing and I noticed when returning back indoors, the outside of the scope was soaking wet with dew.  Firstly I hadn't noticed the problem whilst viewing, although maybe that's 'cos I'm a newb!  Secondly I wondered if it was damaging, particularly once back inside and wondering if I should leave the telescope end-cap off to let the insides dry out but also worried the longer the end-cap remains off the more dust and crud will settle on my beautiful mirror - how the conflict waged!

So searched and read a little on SGL and now (almost) more confused (I did say read 'a little'!)...

1) What am I actually trying to heat?

All the google images for dew heater seem to show a tube extender covering the end of the telescope tube, although threads on SGL talk about 'base plates' and other bits... although I was actually assuming the mirrors were the only issue?

2) Which types of scope get the problems?

I have a little newtonian reflector - is this any more or less susceptible than refractors or cats (that's me trying to sound like one of da 'crew')

3) Why am I taking the scope outside in advance of viewing to let it cool down so much it forms dew - surely the plan is rush outside from a hot house, get the viewing done and back inside for tea and crumpets before the dew realises you're there?

4) What's all this stuff about carry-mats?  I'm not planning on going camping with my scope!  Is it the insulating effect of the carry-mat that does the job or some other quality.  If so, why are these scopes made out of metal and not something less prone to dew, like wood!?

Thanks for help.

Hi Redstamp,

welcome to the world of dew control !