Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

QHY8L with Nebulosity corrupt image

Hi guys,

I'm new to this forum and was looking for some help with my new QHY8L and Nebulosity 3.2 for Mac.

I went out tonight take some photos, hooked up the camera fine, and saw this as a preview image of one second when focused on a star. post-36068-0-49958500-1394767530_thumb.p

Nothing I tried fixed this image, and being a complete beginner with CCD's, I have no idea if it is a problem with the camera, the software, or both!

I'd love some advice on this if anybody knows what's going on.

Thanks so much!

- Kyle

I can't say Ive seen this with mine.

Can you connect the camera to another PC/Mac if it works then you most likely have a driver issue, if you get the same issue it might point to a camera problem. 

Are all the lights on on the DC201 power box? again if they aren't that could suggest power issues, make sure all those connections are tight.

The only other thing that it could be (that i can think of) is the USB cable/connection, are you using a HUB to connect to the Mac? if so try connecting directly & you can try a different USB cable.

Has it ever worked?

The USB hub is a good one.

Devices that draw a lot of power via USB need to be either connected via a "Powered" USB hub or directly connected to the PC / Laptop.

Especially when you have a lot of other (Power hungry) Devices connected to the same unpowered USB hub, can cause issues.

So if you currently use an USB hub, it's Worth trying to connect the camera directly, without the hub and see if it helps.

It looks like the CCD is not being cooled.  The temperature readout on your screenshot shows 100.1deg C.  Check the temperature setpoint in Nebulosity (it is located in Edit - Preferences from the menu on Windows, not sure where the Mac version will be).