NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Question re Polarscope Fitting from a Newbie

Hi to everyone on the forum :-)

My very first question regards the fitting and rotation of a polarscope. I'm completely new to astronomy and I've recently purchased a Skywatcher 150P on an EQ-3.2 mount, and had enough cash left over for a Polarscope and twin motor drives. I spent an enjoyable day putting it all together but a frustrating evening trying to sort out the polarscope. Once I'd found out I needed to remove the existing polarscope holder and day/date circle from the mount and replace it with the optional one, I couldn't find any information whatsoever regarding it's rotation.

I found the polarscope just screwed in until it stopped dead, but when I did so, with the mount at 'home' (I believe it is called) the polarscope diagram was about 135 degrees from horizontal - by that I mean the writing etched into the diagrams was 'almost' upside down. I then removed the polarscope and fitted some of the thin plastic shims I found behind the holder I had taken out, and managed to get the polarscope diagrams and writing 'the right way up' when the mount is at 'home'. Sort of. If I fully tighten the polarscope it does still misalign (with the mount at 'home').

My question is this - is the angle of rotation of the polarscope within the mount totally irrelevent? If I rotate the RA axis to so that the polarscope shows Polaris in transit, and then tighten the polarscope fully, I then need to adjust the rotation of the RA axis to put Polaris back in transit. Is this normal? Do I just need to tighten it completely and leave it there?

I have some further questions regarding the setting circles but for the moment I just want to find out about the polarscope fitting. There is absolutely zero information out there about its fitting, but a plethora of info about aligning it, which is irrelevent if it's not fitted correctly :grin: