SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Equipment needed for making images

ApOpLeXiA

Hello everyone!, newbie here....

I was wondering what equipment you need to make decent (not stunning :D,) photos....., and if any cameras i already have could be used.., atm i do not have a good telescope( meade etx80) and am also looking for a new telescope..

So which telescope(s) are good to use for photagrophy (price range 500 -1000 euros) and what is needed to make pictures.

I do have a canon sx30 is powershot (not an dslr unfort.)

and a sony hd cam, but i doubt they could be used ( even tho i think the sony cam can fit to adapters since i also have an extra zoom lens for it)

Thanks alot in advance!!!, im not expetcing to make stunning photos but just wondering what it would take to make decent pictures of planets/some deep sky objects, i have seen in the forum that people took 5 to 8 hours of staring at a object and for 1 photo, also that hubble took like 45 days for the ultra deep field?:p

Hi and welcome to SGL

Firstly I would highly recomend Beginners guide to astro-photography this book by Steve Ritcherds a local here on the forum. It will answer many questions on the subject.

You could make start with some planetary imaging using your meade ETX80 and a webcam, this is a good cheap webcam suited to the job Cheap Pre Flashed SPC880 CCD webcam bundle - 47842 - discounts & offers Your meade has a long focal leagnth which is good for planetary work.

For deepsky work though it's a hole different ball game! You would firstly need to upgrade to a good mount (the heart of the setup) Somthing like an Skywatcher HEQ5 and above, which is a fair chunk of your budget, I know.

Also generaly for deepspace work most people preffer to use fast, short tube refractors or reflectors. These can be picked up fairly cheap on the second hand market.