NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Meade 127ED apo & DSI II ?

Interested

Hi all,

I am new to the lounge and this is my first post.

Have long been interested in astronomy and was going to buy a setup when I retired (in a couple of years). Fed up of waiting, I have ordered a Meade 127mm f7.5 refractor & HEQ5 Pro (about the best I could afford on my budget - and I am unlikely to be able to afford much upgrading in the future). Apart from observation I would like to try some DSI and need some advice on the following:

1. Would the Meade DSI II be a good starting point for a beginner to imaging? (It's on offer at Telescope House).

2. As my laptop is Windows 7, are there drivers available for the DSI II?

3. Will I need a focal reducer, and if so, what should I buy and from where?

4. I have read a few posts and noted the term 'modded DSLR' (I assume, to allow longer exposures?) would this be a better route than the DSI II for DSI?

5. Where does one buy a modded DSLR?

The light polution where I live is pretty bad but my girlfriend lives 1200' above sea level and away from any towns somwhere in mid Wales!

In advance, many thanks for any help anyone can give.

P.S. Assume I write my kit list (when I get it) as part of my signature block? :o

The DSI II looks a nice bit of kit,but at £600 it should be,I have heard good reviews of it,as Ive been looking at options too,

Im no expert with DSLR's but I think the term "modded" refers to the sensitivity to a particular part of the spectrum,I know if you use a modded DSLR for normal photography you may have to have a red filter on the front :)

Hope someone comes along who knows a bit more :(

JJ..

The DSLR modification is performed to remove the Infra Red Cut filter, so the camera can be used for Infra Red, and /or Astro Photography.