NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newbie : A Few Extras For Me Mak

Hi

Being a total newbie I just wondered if the peeps on here could identify some extras I will/may need for my Skymax127 and az goto mount?

For instance I need to be able to reduce the focal length in some way for imaging and viewing and I am aware of focal reducers but there are different ones and I am not sure what I need.

Then there is :

a cheap filter to image and view the Sun

I need (or do I?) a dew system

portable power

a quality barlows or some other simlar device

an improvement to my guidescope which I can't see at night!!

A really useful thing would be a wireless usb hub but I don't know if the video from the webcam will feed the laptop in realtime quick enough?

and so as I am encountering all these things for the first time I just wondered what advice I could get about what would be really useful to me right now since getting the scope and mount last week?

ta.

You will need some form of dew prevention, either a dew shield or a heated dew prevention strip, or both. Possibly a red light torch as well.

Other than that I'd wait until you have tried using the scope a few times before splashing out on accessories. There are just so many (literally hundreds of options) that it's much better to get a little experience under your belt so that you can make the right investments for you.

The 2nd hand astro pages are full of stuff that "seemed a good idea at the time" !.

lol - thats kinda why I started this thread!! I want things now that would be actually useful and helpful (such as a focal reducer for shooting the moon with my webcam this month?). Also I need to consider a budget for this year and so there will need to be priorities.