Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Volunteer please for image post processing help (with incentive)

SteveKinder

I am new to astrophotography.

I haven’t mastered auto guiding yet (long story) but will do eventually.

I am getting some single images that as a beginner I am encouraged by without (auto) guiding.

I am subtracting darks and stacking lights in DSS (limited to total of 10 – 20 mins total exposure at the moment as I am too impatient).

I have done loads of background reading on post processing in Photoshop.

What I have no confidence in whatsoever as yet as I get such varied results is whether I am reaching anywhere near the potential of these pics with my post processing.

I have noticed people on the Forum taking other peoples shots and improving them.

I am being cheeky and directly putting a plea our for someone to have a go at one or more of my shots straight out of DSS to see what they can do with them with a view to me realistically setting expectations on my post processing results.

Examples from the weekend just gone include

Rosette Nebula

Horse Head Nebula

Eskimo Nebula

M35 + NGC2158

M38 + NGC1907

How do I best make the images available, the DSS output *.tif files are approx 95Mbytes?

I know the kind ad generous people on here don’t need and incentive but I am inviting the people who have been giving me help and advice already over to a star party at my place in Ibiza (good skies, loads of room, not to mention the best clubs in the world) in May as a think you. There are still a few places left and I hope the first of these won’t be the last.

Thanks again.

Steve.

Steve, is there any chance you could post them up on a web-based file host and people could download them from there? I think you'd get a fair few people wanting to have a play with your data :).

Tony..

i'll have a play, need to learn the processing side of things.

MArk