Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Sketching techniques?

Hi everyone,

I am kinda new to all this astronomy stuff, but thought that if i sketched what i saw, it might help me look for more detail, and see more. Also, it would give something to compare against the next time i looked.

I tried a couple of sketches, but they were absolutely terrible.

Does anyone have any good techniques for making good sketches?

Thanks,

Jack

Hi everyone,

I am kinda new to all this astronomy stuff, but thought that if i sketched what i saw, it might help me look for more detail, and see more. Also, it would give something to compare against the next time i looked.

I tried a couple of sketches, but they were absolutely terrible.

Does anyone have any good techniques for making good sketches?

Thanks,

Jack

I've attached a couple of helpful exercises. I use something called clock method - picture the field of view, lunar disk, etc as a clock face. Want to sketch in a maria?

1. identify it's 'hour angle' - if you put the minute hand straight through the center, where would it point to?

2. How far from the center is it? Most people can estimate to the nearest 10% easily enough.

3. Now that you have it located, focus on shape and size - how big is it compared to the entire disk?

Try it - by breaking detail down into manageable bits, you can do a creditable sketch easily. The proof of the pudding, of course, is to compare your sketch to a lunar atlas - say The Moon - Official Website Of Luna - Luna Society - and see how many features on your sketch you can identify. Your "poor" sketch may surprise you! :)

I've attached an exercise my kids do in astronomy class here for you to try. Let me know how it works for you! ;)

Dan

Lab Skills - Sketching with the Clock Method.doc