First Post. Accessories - Torch

Hey, i'm about to buy a skywatcher skyliner 8" dob. I have one book Nightwatch, and i'm gradually doing my research.... total newbie!

but i figured if i want to do anything on my first night, i need to buy a red light torch... so, any advice on what is so simple but surely so important an item???

thanks for your help!

btw i didn't want to post this in the beginners section (i would have prefered accessories) but i didn't know how to post in another section!!!

Yes a red light torch will serve you well but you don't have to buy one you could make one by just putting some red film over the end of an existing torch. I prefer to use a red light head lamp it keeps my hands free for holding ep's, scope, star chart etc.

I use Nightwatch a lot I find the star charts are very good. Enjoy the 8" Dob.

Hi Nick and welcome to SGL.

I bought an "Energizer" head torch for around a tenner which can switch between 2 white LED's to 1 red. This of course leaves your hands free! I believe there are cheaper options though. That said I have been very pleased with mine.

wow, thanks for the tips, i might try a red film over existing torch, or maybe try and order a head lamp with red LED's from work (i won't mention the telescope!!)

are there any other accessories you would recommend?? it seems most people seem to get a telrad or rigel quikfinder, a good seat, and maybe something to stop dew (though i haven't done any research on the issue of dew!)

Hi Jordan,

I would agree that a head torch is the best way of handling the torch. Can I add that it's not just having a red light, it also has to be of the right brightness (i.e dim) otherwise it will still effect your night vision, admittedly less than if it was a white light. So when you are adapting an existing torch as suggested above, try and make it a darker red if you can, as it will make all the difference.