Celestron nextstar help!!

Could anybody give me some useful tips I am completely new to using a telescope though have a lifelong interest in astronomy , may be mad ?? but now need some serious assistance with Celestron nextstar 8" se

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

I have its little brother (the 6SE). Not sure exactly what tips you are after, so if I am completely off track, please say and I'm sure any specific questions can be answered.

First thing I would say is that time spent setting up carefully will be repaid in an easier observing session. Make sure the tripod is as level as possible. When setting the location and time be as accurate as possible. Don't forget that the date is MM/DD/YY (not DD/MM/YY).

If you are doing a skyalign, I always found including the moon or planets made it more likely to fail (I always had enormous difficulty getting skyalign to work at all, but others on the forum have no problem).

Also, if you are running it on batteries, they have a very short life. You will really need some sort of power tank (Maplins do a nice 17Ah 'jump starter').

HTH

BTW: welcome to the forum

Thanks you have just answered 2 of 3 questions straight off , I did use the planets to align and it pointed to the floor !! and was seriously thinking about power pack after my third pack of batteries ! also found a comment on dew sheilds you made last year very helpful

I understand I can get bigger aperture eye pieces , would this be helpful with older eyesight !! or in your opinion a waste of money