Binocular advice for a total newbie

hi folks,

Watched the 'stargazing live' programmes last week and decided now that rather than shell out a load of money on a telescope, to begin with i'd like to get a decent pair of binoculars. Ive got an app for my iphone which has 3D star layouts etc and ive been out looking at some constellations (big dipper & orion) over the last few nights.

I dont want to spend any more than £50 really but i havent got a clue what im looking for. Ideally id like a pair light enough to hold but i want some decent views of constellations etc so any pointers and recommendations would be much appreciated

hello, you may also wish to a lightweight photograhers tripod and an adaptor for binoculars something like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hama-Star-Tripod-free-Carry/dp/B000EOMQM2/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1294679446&sr=1-3 and this 7dayshop Binocular Adapter - DELIVERY INCLUDED - UK'S: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics as to binoculars my local lidl shop has some binoculrs still in stock at £15 I am sure that your local shop probably has as well these seem to get fair reviews for cheap binoculars

I have a pair of the 10x50 Rocktrails with Bak 4 prisms that Lidl sell. They give pin sharp views of the stars and moon.

However, I recently purchased a pair of the 10-30x60 zoom binos by the same manufacturer form Lidl. I didn't expect much in view of the price but I thought I'd try them. After having to take the first pair back as they were seriously out of line, the second pair didn't seem too bad. However, having had them three weeks they now seem to need collimating every time I use them. The view through them at 10x is also not as crisp as the 10x50s. This may be because they use Bak 7 prisms instead of the Bak 4 prisms in the 10x50s. So I wouldn't recommend the zoom version of the Rocktrails.