Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Upgrade from SXV-H9 to SXV-H16?

Hi gang, I have been using an SXV-H9 for about 18 months now and come to the conclusion I "need" more megapixels! I have found myself using Pentax medium format lenses in an attempt to get the focal length short enough to fit my favourite targets onto the 285 chip and, while I have been pleasantly surprised with the quality of these lenses, being achromatic they aren't particularly suited to LRGB work. Ranging in aperture between 33.75mm (for the 135mm/f4) and 75mm (300mm/f4), they also lack somewhat in the light-grab department and I am finding some of my exposure lengths quite high with the shorter lenses, eg 20 minutes for Ha shots of Cederblad 214 with the 135mm/f4.

Being a man of modest means, and other financial commitments, I would like to upgrade to something bigger but with minimum of fuss and outlay. I have a range of SX accessories already - ie a fully populated SX 7x1.25"filter wheel, SXV guide head and SX slimline OAG - and have found Terry Platt's customer service superb, above and beyond the call of duty, so would like to stick with that company if possible.

A common "upgrade route" seems to be to move from the H9 to the H16. Looking at Starlight Xpress's website, the Kodak4021M used in the H16 appears to be inferior to the Sony ICX285AL in every way (apart from size) but the H16 is cooled to 40 degrees below ambient, whereas the H9 is cooled to 30 degrees below ambient - does this compensate for the higher dark current, read noise and lower QE? Also, am I right in thinking the H16 is still small enough to be used with 1.25" filters without vignetting?

I would be interested to hear from anyone (Psjshep?) who has gone down this route and how they felt the two cameras compared.

cheers! :eek:

(also posted on UKAI)

Greetings, Dave,

My rather parallel route might be of interest. I went from Atik 16HR to Atik 4000(s), the plural because I have OSC and mono...