Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

newbie here asking something about ...

keeplookingup

a few things.

hope all is well with everyone.

decided to start watching the moon because it is just so close to us.

I noticed that, maybe, tycho crater appeared to shift to me over the course of a few days. or is it my tired eyes?

I started googling and found someone mentioned this:

Lunar precession

the moon precession is 9 years?

if tycho actually did move do to this .

my questions are:

1. Does tycho ever go non-visible?

2. what objects could I watch that would be unseen for some time and then reappear later during the process

thanks

in china we say niu bi but i cant say what it means other than...

its really cool :)

Hi, The moon always has the same side facing us. The moon does sometimes appear to turn slightly during its orbit but the ammount is so slight that i doubt it would be noticable to anyone but the most experienced observers, so must be your tired eyes. :)

The moon does sometimes appear to turn slightly during its orbit but the ammount is so slight that i doubt it would be noticable to anyone but the most experienced observers

Aw c'mon, it's a very noticeable effect - sometimes e.g. Mare Crisium is well clear of the limb, sometimes it's almost touching; libration in longitude runs up to approx 7 degrees either way and is due to the eccentricity of the lunar orbit; libration in latitude runs up to about 6 degrees either way and is due to the plane of the lunar orbit not coinciding with the earth's equator. There is also a bit of extra libration (up to one degree) caused by the observer (on the earth's surface) not necessarily being on line between the earth's and moon's centres. Altogether we can see almost 59% of the moon's surface, but obviously not more than 50% at any particular moment in time.

Libration effects can easily but accurately be simulated using the excellent, and free, Virtual Lunar Atlas program.