Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which CCD vs. which camera?

siovene

Hello everybody,

I'm new to astrophotography and new to the forum.

I have a Skywatcher 80ED apo on a HEQ5 mount, plus guide scope with QHY5 camera.

My current imaging camera is a Canon 450D which is not modded. I have a number of options now:

1) Mod my 450D and use it also for family pictures, with a filter or with modified white balance.

PROS: cheap

CONS: lumbering; I will lack a dedicated AP camera.

2) Buy a used camera which is already modded, keeping the 450D for my family photos.

PROS: I don't have to mod the camera myself (I'm afraid I will kill it :) )

CONS: I don't want to get anything older than a 450D, so it won't be that cheap.

3) Mod my 450D and buy another camera for family photos.

PROS: I would get a camera that shoots HD videos too.

CONS: expensive

4) Shed the pennies and get a CCD, keeping the 450D for family photos

PROS: I would probably get a much better AP camera

CONS: much more expensive

Guys, I need you to run down these options. I need to know if shooting monochrome with taking turns at RGB filters will be VERY laborious, and if a cheap CCD (<= 1000 EUR) will be better than a modded 450D or similar.

Also, which entry level CCD cameras would you recommend?

PS: winters are very cold here (down to -20C (-4F)), and that's where I would do most my imaging, since at my high latitude summer nights are non-existent or really short. So perhaps I don't need that much cooling for the camera ;)

Please help me out!

Thanks!

Paul's article is excellent.

In very cold conditions DSLRs can malfunction. I have seen that even here at around minus ten.

LRGB is not laborious and one shot colour is not faster. I use both in the same model of camera.(Atik 4000s). The fastest is LRGB with colour binned 2x2.

One shot colour CCD is good but sometimes you would really miss the benefits of a high resolution Ha layer on many targets.