Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Galaxies and Electromagnetic Propagation

I recently posted a hypothesis on physics.org that was deleted for being overly speculative ( I was so bold as to suggest the electromagnetic frequency of dark energy and give a means to detect dark matter).

The reason I am here is to get some help with the hypothesis concerning my predicted astronomical observations. My background is actually more in the electronics field than astronomy, so I may need lots of help :eek:.

Simply put, part of my hypothesis suggests that galaxies can act as a double negative refractive metamaterial matrix. This metamaterial matrix is caused by a combination of ENG and MNG areas made by stars and the periodic structures of those stars in a galaxy. This would cause certain galaxies to act as a metamatrial superlens bending an ELF spectrum around that galaxy. This would cause an effect similar to gravitic lensing in an ELF spectrum.

So my questions for the astronomers are:

Can radio telescopes pick up ELF at less than 1Hz? Does anyone know of any observations made at these frequencies?

I actually have a lot more questions but this would be a good start.

huh!!!

Thanks for the reply starstalker, of course this is not the reaction I was looking for :eek:. I have obviously failed in my description and I will restate it.

My hypothesis suggests that a galaxy, because of its structure and composition, can "bend" certain electromagnetic frequencies around it (double negative refraction). This would be somewhat similar to the way a gravitational lens "bends" light around a massive object (though only at certain ELFs). I believe this phenomenon can also be observed.

To be able to verify this I need to know some particulars on radio astronomy. What range of frequencies do the radio telescopes operate in, and if Extremely Low Frequency (ELF) below 1Hz has been observed by these telescopes in the past?

Hi Quintus